Film Independent Spirit Awards – 4/22/21

Nominations Announced on 1/26/21

Awards Presented on 4/22/21


Best Feature
First Cow
Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
Never Rarely Sometimes Always

Best Director
Lee Isaac Chung, Minari
Emerald Fennell, Promising Young Woman
Eliza Hittman, Never Rarely Sometimes Always
Kelly Reichardt, First Cow
Chloe Zhao, Nomadland

Best First Feature
I Carry You With Me
The 40 Year Old Version
Sound of Metal
Miss Juneteenth
Nine Days

Best Female Lead
Nicole Beharie, Miss Juneteenth
Viola Davis, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
Sidney Flanigan, Never Rarely Sometimes Always
Julia Garner, The Assistant
Frances McDormand, Nomadland
Carey Mulligan, Promising Young Woman

Best Male Lead
Riz Ahmed, Sound of Metal
Chadwick Boseman, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
Rob Morgan, Bull
Steven Yeun, Minari
Adarsh Gourav, The White Tiger

Best Supporting Female
Alexis Chikaeze, Miss Juneteenth
Yeri Han, Minari
Valerie Mahaffey, French Exit
Talia Ryder, Never Rarely Sometimes Always
Yuh-jung Youn, Minari

Best Supporting Male
Colman Domingo, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
Orion Lee, First Cow
Paul Raci, Sound of Metal
Glynn Turmann, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
Benedict Wong, Nine Days

Best Screenplay
Bad Education
The Half of It
Never Rarely Sometimes Always
Promising Young Woman

Best First Screenplay
Kitty Green, The Assistant
Noah Hutton, Lapsis
Channing Godfrey Peoples, Miss Juneteenth
Andy Siara, Palm Springs
James Sweeney, Straight Up

Best Cinematography
Jay Keitel, She Dies Tomorrow
Shabier Kirchner, Bull
Michael Latham, The Assistant
Hélène Louvart, Never Rarely Sometimes Always
Joshua James Richards, Nomadland

Best Editing
I Carry You With Me
The Invisible Man
Never Rarely Sometimes Always

Robert Altman Award
One Night in Miami…

Best Documentary
Crip Camp
Dick Johnson Is Dead
The Mole Agent

Best International Film
The Disciple
Night of the Kings
Preparations to be Together for an Unknown Period of Time
Quo Vadis, Aida?

Piaget Producers Award
Kara Durrett
Lucas Joaquin
Gerry Kim

Someone to Watch Award
David Midell, The Killing of Kenneth Chamberlain
Ekwa Msangi, Farewell Amor
Annie Silverstein, Bull

Truer Than Fiction Award
Cecilia Aldarondo, Landfall
Elegance Bratton, Pier Kids
Elizabeth Lo, Stray

John Cassavetes Awards
The Killing of Two Lovers
La Leyenda Negra
Lingua Franca
Saint Frances

Best New Non-Scripted or Documentary Series
Atlanta’s Missing and Murdered: The Lost Children
City So Real
Immigration Nation
Love Fraud
We’re Here

Best Scripted Series
I May Destroy You
Little America
Small Axe
A Teacher

Best Female Performance in a Scripted Series
Elle Fanning, The Great
Shira Haas, Unorthodox
Abby McEnany, Work in Progress
Maitreyi Ramakrishnan, Never Have I Ever
Jordan Kristine Seamón, We Are Who We Are

Best Male Performance in a Scripted Series
Conphidance, Little America
Adam Ali, Little America
Nicco Annan, P-Valley
Amit Rahav, Unorthodox
Harold Torres, Zero, Zero, Zero

Best Ensemble Cast in a New Scripted Series
I May Destroy You
Ensemble Cast: Michaela Coel, Paapa Essiedu, Weruche Opia
Stephen Wight