Film Independent Spirit Awards – 3/3/2018

Nominations Announced on 11/21/17!

Awards Presented on 3/3/2018

The Spirit Awards, hosted by Nick Kroll and John Mulaney, air Saturday, March 3

Best Feature

Best First Feature

  • Columbus
  • Ingrid Goes West – WINNER!
  • Menashe
  • Oh Lucy!
  • Patti Cake$

John Cassavetes Award (for best film made for under $500,000)

  • Dayveon
  • A Ghost Story
  • Life and Nothing More – WINNER!
  • Most Beautiful Island
  • The Transfiguration

Best Director

  • Sean Baker (The Florida Project)
  • Jonas Carpignano (A Ciambra)
  • Luca Guadagnino (Call Me By Your Name)
  • Jordan Peele (Get Out) – WINNER!
  • Benny Safdie and Josh Safdie (Good Time)
  • Chloé Zhao (The Rider)

Best Female Lead

Best Male Lead

Best Supporting Female

  • Holly Hunter (The Big Sick)
  • Allison Janney (I, Tonya) – WINNER!
  • Laurie Metcalf (Lady Bird)
  • Lois Smith (Marjorie Prime)
  • Taliah Lennice Webster (Good Time)

Best Supporting Male

Best Screenplay

Best First Screenplay

  • Kris Avedisian, Kyle Espeleta (story by), and Jesse Wakeman (story by) (Donald Cried)
  • Emily V. Gordon and Kumail Nanjiani (The Big Sick) – WINNER!
  • Ingrid Jungermann (Women Who Kill)
  • Kogonada (Columbus)
  • David Branson Smith and Matt Spicer (Ingrid Goes West)

Best Cinematography

Best Editing

  • Ronald Bronstein and Benny Safdie (Good Time)
  • Walter Fasano (Call Me By Your Name)
  • Alex O’Flinn (The Rider)
  • Gregory Plotkin (Get Out)
  • Tatiana S. Riegel (I, Tonya) – WINNER!

Best International Feature

  • BPM (Beats Per Minute) (France)
  • A Fantastic Woman (Chile) – WINNER!
  • I Am Not a Witch (UK)
  • Lady Macbeth (UK)
  • Loveless (Russia)

Best Documentary

  • The Departure
  • Faces Places – WINNER!
  • Last Men in Aleppo
  • Motherland
  • Quest

Robert Altman Award (for best ensemble casting)

  • Mudbound

Kiehl’s Someone to Watch Award

  • Amman Abbasi (Dayveon)
  • Justin Chon (Gook) – WINNER!
  • Kevin Phillips (Super Dark Times)

Piaget Producers Award

  • Giulia Caruso and Ki Jin Kim (Columbus)
  • Ben LeClair (The LoversWoodshock)
  • Summer Shelton (Keep the Change) – WINNER!

Jeep Truer Than Fiction Award

  • The Cage Fighter
  • Distant Constellation
  • Quest – WINNER!

American Airlines Bonnie Award

  • So Yong Kim
  • Lynn Shelton
  • Chloé Zhao – WINNER!